Faculty of Medicine | Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences

The Faculty of Medicine

About the Faculty

The Faculty of Medicine at CUCMS holds the distinction of being 1 of the 2 oldest faculties of the university being established since the inception of CUCMS. It is home to a team of dedicated healthcare professionals who are committed to shaping the future doctors of the nation.

The Faculty manages the MBBS programme which was developed with the aim of producing caring, compassionate and knowledge-based doctors who would become assets to the nation. The first intake of students for the MBBS programme was accepted in 2005. The batch of students graduated in 2010.

The Medical Sciences Phase (Phase I) students are based at the Cyberjaya main campus. Students of the three-year Clinical Sciences Phase (Phase II) are divided into groups where they are rotated for their various clinical postings in various hospitals and health care centres of both the Ministry of Defence and the Ministry of Health for example at the Hospital Kuala Lumpur, Hospital Seri Manjung, Hospital Terendak, Hospital Banting, Hospital Putrajaya, Hospital Serdang & Hospital Kajang.

The faculty’s founding members developed a unique Mentoring System which is vital in the training and assessment of its students. This is reflected in the students’ Affective Domain assessment which includes, among others, the marks acquired during Reflection Sessions, Peer, Self and Mentor Assessment and Folio Records.

Abd Rahim 5

About the Dean

Prof Dato’ Dr Abd Rahim bin Mohamad


Dr Abd Rahim had served the Ministry of Health for 30 years before he retired in 2012. Prof Dato’ Dr Abd Rahim bin Mohamad, a Public Health Specialist was appointed Dean in April 2015.

He is the 3rd person to be made the Dean since the founding of the University.

His last position in the Ministry was the Director for Planning and Development . He was appointed as the Head for Community Medicine/ Public Health Discipline when he joined FOM, CUCMS and in April 2013 he was appointed as the Deputy Dean( Administration, Post-graduate and External Relation). In April 2015, he was appointed as the Dean of Faculty of Medicine for two years.

Programmes Offered

Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)

Master of Medical Science (MSc)(By Research)

managed by the Centre for Graduate Studies, Research and Commercialization

Doctor of Philosophy in Medical Sciences (PhD)

managed by the Centre for Graduate Studies, Research and Commercialization